Tags

, ,

The first set of living room chairs I purchased was at my college. The old dorm chairs lined the walls of the basement hallway. They were vintage and from my college. Automatically = awesome. They cost me $15.00 and I had to haul them myself. Sweet. I’m a new graduate and I can do anything. They went to my first space (sharing a townhouse and sleeping on my friend’s futon), then to my other townhouse with more people where I had a basement room, then when I thought I was going to move to the Chicago area, they moved to this guy’s townhouse where I thought I was going to live, then when that fell through and I got my first apartment, back north they came. Then they went to my second apartment, and finally into my first home I bought with my husband. The vinyl was wearing out and getting that weird sticky feeling so Bed, Bath and Beyond provided me with slip cover options. The slipcovers were a darkish sage green and worked well and actually fit quite well too. My husband hated them. My plan, always, was to reupholster the the chairs. Last summer he even got quotes from three different reupholstering businesses. Wow – great work toward our goal. We ended up needing the money for a small re-roofing project so our chairs sat forlornly and forgotten about in the living room. They looked okay in the same room with our couch. It wasn’t an abomination or anything, but it just didn’t work as well as I wanted it to. I needed a little more class.

This brings us to the present. Easter break. I had a million things on my “to do list” (not a lot of them got done) and then something jumped to the top of the list and was accomplished in three days. (How does that happen?). My husband and I are driving around somewhere and he asks, would you still rather have the chairs re-done or would you like to buy new chairs? I gasped. I never in a million years thought he would actually want new chairs. I immediately forced him to go to the nearest furniture store so we could start looking. No luck. I knew what I wanted, but didn’t know until I saw it. I saw some things. But of course all the ones I liked, he did not. (How does that happen?). The next day I went to a different store by myself and picked out 5 – 6 chairs I really liked. I thought they were comfortable. Apparently I know nothing about comfort. I brought home way too many fabric swatches and we picked out one we liked. At least we immediately agreed on that. Weird.

The next day we went back to the store. He did not like any of the chairs! Ah. The one we finally settled on only came in one color. Not okay! So after two hours, we left. (It is best not to wear a watch into a furniture store). We went back to the first store we had been at together. We found a few we both liked. Still too expensive. By this time, we were both really irritated with the stores, the styles, each other and ourselves. So we ate lunch. I had a humongous burrito. I felt better. We decided to try one more store that we had never been to before.

With renewed energy and vigor we sallied forth. It was so weird. The minute we walked through the door, we loved everything we saw. Literally, at the same time, we were like why did we not come here first?!!  It specializes in small scale furniture which is really what we need because our house is not huge (it’s cozy), and the scale is very important. Moreover, I wanted a really classic/vintage look. I got really picky when I realized I was super OCD about the style of  the arms. I don’t like large arms. they are too bulbous and take up too much space. That is just my personal opinion on furniture for my own house and I love all the furniture my friends have. 🙂

My husband decided it was time to change out his bachelor “man chair.” I am truly proud of him. We finally agreed on a suitable style to replace the chair and he actually liked the comfort (it was up to his standards). So instead of just two, we ended up with three new chairs. “My” two fit in the back of the Ford, his will be ready for pick up in 6 – 8 weeks – such a long time to wait – but well worth it. I love my new chairs. They are perfect and literally what I always wanted. It was a perfect end to a wonderful Easter break.

Old chairs (purchased from my college)

Old chairs (purchased from my college)

New chairs!

New chairs!

