Tags

, ,

For those of you who read and follow, you know I’m hard core authentic, natural hand sewn everything. However because of time and lack of knowledge and money and guts, I will not be wearing authentic-historically accurate-period appropriate shoes at the Battle of Waterloo Reenactment. I can’t bear to bring my new American Duchess Nankeen boots with me for fear that if it is muddy, they will get ruined. I just can’t. I had considered covering some old shoes in scrap fabric because I’ve seen other bloggers do that. But I was all, oh geeze, that requires gluing and waiting and cutting and measuring and possibly messing it up. (Though I still intend to make them at some point).

A few years back, of all places, I found a pair of oxfords at Urban Outfitters that had a striking resemblance to 19th century shoes. I bought them for $60.00, wore them to work a lot and loved them. They are all leather and have a leader bottom. They are one of the comfiest and easiest shoes to wear. Some of my living history friends said they could “pass” for 19th century shoes, but I’d have to cut off the ties with tassels on the end.

IMG_8653

 

I really did not want to cut off the tassels just yet. My plan is/was to use ribbon to tie them closed, but I’m worried the ribbon will be too slippery and won’t hold them closed very well. I left the tassels, purchased ribbon (not silk like I wanted, but it *kind of* looks like it. It’s just black satin stuff).

And now my 19th century shoe hack tutorial. (I was too lazy/excited to put stockings on).

1. Cut ribbon to desired length. Thread through holes behind original laces.

IMG_9075

 

 

 

2. Tie original laces first.

IMG_9076

 

 

3. Tuck laces behind flaps.

IMG_9077

 

IMG_9078

 

4. Tie ribbon laces.

IMG_9079

 

IMG_9080

 

When I make one bow (single knot), they look like the above photo.

5. Make a double knot/bow for extra holding power. Then the bow flips.

IMG_9081

 

6. TA-DA!!!!!!!

 

 

 

IMG_9083

 

 

Although I’m not keen on wearing black and brown together, I figure wearing it this way once will help me decide what color silk ribbon I should buy. Not bad self. Not bad.

IMG_9073

