Tags

,

Perhaps I’m a bit optimistic and naive. Owning a home is swell. Getting to build an addition to the home is even better!!! We’ve been in our house just three years. I fell in love with the old historical charm; Mr. H adored the giant yard. It was our compromise. Lovingly he has put up with slanty floors (they’re not that slanty IMHO), a broken sump pump, a chimney that was good when we bought it, a shifty furnace, an old hot water heater, and a host of other things that accompany old houses. I’ve lived in old houses my entire life and actually my house is the oldest one I’ve ever lived in with – according to the previous owner – the first part (a log cabin) built in 1843 (why that date I have no idea) and the second part built in 1911. The 1911 part has similar details to my parents’ home, built in 1915.

Our house is very cozy. I love the bright yellow walls in the living room. The exposed logs of the cabin part are tres rustic chic. The house is built exactly on the NSEW axis so we get fabulous sunlight in our big east/west windows in the living/entryway.

We are truly “green” people: buying an old house that was already available. I know there is a huge tiny house trend right now too. I get it. Live within your means. Don’t go to extremes because you can. My parents are large proponents of buying a house within your financial means when you are first married and make do until you can afford to either add on or move again. (The first house my parents bought was a cute 1920’s-2 bedroom-1 bath at 1500 square ft. Within a few years of owning it, my dad built a fabulous library with floor to ceiling book shelves and cathedral ceilings. However, with two growing daughters, sharing a bedroom through the teen years was really not an option. When I was 13, we moved clear across the state to a house of 2,000 square ft). So I think I’ve followed their advice pretty well. However, even with just two of us, (having kids is still up in the air for us), the house is cramped. Maybe I have too large of a historical clothing collection. Nope. Definitely not the issue. Maybe it’s our every growing book collection? Nope. Not that. Maybe it’s…..yeah. We are definitely *not* tiny house people.

My dad, an awesome architect, measured the house this fall and drew up the blueprint of the house as it is.

Here they are!

IMG_8399

 

 

Over Christmas break, we spent a few hours drawing possible additions. Now my pinterest board “Remodel” is added to daily.

My dad and I made a list of requirements:

1. New kitchen w/ lots of built in storage, especially a pantry, and more windows

2. Laundry room w/ a built-in folding table and more storage

3. Bigger-ish closets in bedrooms

4. Two new bedrooms

5. Built in bookshelves anywhere that seems awesome

6. Decent sized windows

Our main goal is to keep the addition looking a lot like the 1911 part in style/dimensions/feel. I really want it to be seamless when you travel from one part of the house to the next. This also means mimicking baseboard and trim styles.

Who knows how long this series of posts will be!!! But the wheels are turning as we move into 2015!!!

IMG_8403

