Tags

, ,

Every so often I just get this craving to buy fabrics. Like any person who sews, I have boxes full of fabric. But new projects loom on the horizon, so I had to scope out the possibilities and get prices. The first great find of the day was at JoAnn’s. Ever since I’ve gotten quite good at making petticoats by hand, I’ve really wanted to make a quilted one. However, I don’t exactly have the time to make one now that I’m making quilted jumps. (And if I make a quilted petticoat, I don’t want it to be the first time that I quilt something, so a little more experience quilting is needed). So I remembered that in the home decor department, I’ve seen some quilted fabrics that work. I walked up and down each aisle carefully fingering all the beautiful colors and designs. I rarely look on the back ‘sale’ wall because rarely do I find anything worth buying there. However, I stopped dead in my tracks. I found gorgeous fabric with an 18th century print on it. I could not believe it. There was only a bit left on the bolt, but I knew it was enough for a petticoat. I quickly snatched it so no one else could get their grubby hands on it. 

 

In this pic, it’s folded in half and on the right and left side is the salvaged edge just waiting to be stitched together. 

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Then, I went to Patched Works, a quilt store in Elm Grove, WI. I’m on a search for the perfect fabric for our regency dresses to wear at Waterloo. I tried to not just throw down my credit card and buy the fabric because it’s pretty and I have to have it. So I just bought samples. That way I can see what looks best against my sister’s skin tones and with mine and I can double check it against extant fabrics. Also, the majority of the quilt store is cotton. In the back of my mind I’m still wondering if I should get linen or cotton. Linen drapes so beautifully…..it’s hard to not want it. 

Here are the samples I got for regency dresses. 

Option 1

Image

 

 

 

 

Option 2

 

Image

 

 

Option 3

Image

 

 

Option 4

Image

 

 

A lot of the regency dresses I’ve been looking at online are light colored fabrics, so that inspired my finds for today. Although there are a few dresses that have gorgeous deep colors. I can’t decide just yet, but I think I need to decide by Thanksgiving. The sister and I have a dress fitting project then and once I know her size, I need to know the fabric type and color. 

 

Lastly, as I wandered around the quilt shop, I saw the fat quarter bundle. These are the devil. I think, oh I can throw something together out of these. They are totally worth it. Yep. Well actually this time, I found a bundle of beautiful French General fabrics that would work well for dish towels. I’m obsessed with hand/dish towels both for my home and reenacting. I don’t know why, but I just do! Here is the bundle I got: 

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

 

 

Image

