Tags

, ,

I am starting to enjoy each of the seasonal changes now that I have a house to take care of. This is the third autumn at our little homestead in the nearly “backwoods” of WI. My husband and I have decided once a week (sometime between Thurs, Fri, or Sat) that it is “pick up as many buckets of walnuts as you can day.” I love everything about this time of year and I think my husband hates everything about it. Haha.

Why I love being outside in the fall:

1. 50 – 60 degree temps after mid 90s in summer = instantly more enjoyable

2. Looking up into the tallest branches of the walnut trees and seeing the sun shine through so the walnuts are black globs waiting to drop

3. Watching Twiggy hunt bugs among the leaves and dying garden foliage

4. Listening to geese fly over head

5. Smelling the piney/rotting scent of walnuts when they plop into the bucket

6. Listening to my husband shout, “oh god they’re EVERYWHERE!” every time he walks around and picks up walnuts

After a really hot hot spring in 2012, the 2013 spring seemed to take forever to arrive and then for the ground to warm and the plants to bloom. Summer, this year, was much better than last because the grass did not die and the plants survived and so did we – mostly. Fall is here again. I much prefer cooking in the fall winter because I love making soups, stews, and casseroles – not really ideal when the house is 80 degrees, but awesome when it is a cool 40 or 50 outside. Last night I made Campbell’s Butternut Squash Bisque soup (yep. I don’t have a food processor, so Campbell’s makes it for us) and added fresh acorn squash and made homemade croutons to put on top of it. It was excellent; the perfect Friday night fall time dinner. Tonight, since it will almost reach 60 today, dinner will be Polish sausage, sauerkraut pierogies, and onions all sauteed together. Hurray!!

