I suppose everyone has, once they move into their first house, that one room that somehow gets all the new updates/redecorating attention. Well for us, it was our living room. I was not a fan of how our living room furniture from our first apartments went with each other’s furniture or how it didn’t fit into the historical interior of the house. I was willing to wait a while until we found “the perfect” stuff. The first to get changed out were the couches. We had two (one for each of us). We gave away my husband’s and moved mine to the enclosed back porch. Next, we finally got what we refer to as “adult end tables.” Now our couch is a faded red, which I love because it won’t show the dirt. Next, in each of our apartments, we had survived with the three tier dorm side table meets bookshelf contraption. Again, fine for an apartment, but not so much for an older home. So last summer when I was in Minneapolis visiting my sister we hit several large antique stores and I found two perfect tables. (It was one of those moments that you kind of know what you are looking for, but only sort of and so you rely on your instinct of “I’ll know it when I see it.” Yeah that was me. It worked). Well with new end tables, we had to update the TV stand. We got a “build it yourself vintage inspired” model from Target. It fits really well. Then, the “bachelor chair” and my dorm chairs looked a little out of place. I desperately wanted my dorm chairs (from the 30s) reupholstered. I was willing to wait again until the perfect fabric inspired me. But then my husband convinced me to want and subsequently buy new chairs and move my old ones to the art studio. Woohoo. Another shopping excursion. I could not say no to that! We bought three new chairs altogether; two to replace mine and one to replace his bachelor chair. Because they had the two chairs (replacing mine) already in stock, we took them with us that day and just a few weeks ago, “his” chair arrived and we picked it up. My parents have always had fairly traditional furniture in terms of style and fabrics. While I love a beautiful floral print, I wasn’t so sure I wanted that type of fabric. I prefer more traditional lines, but more fun vintage graphic prints. Sooooo…..my husband found the chair he thought was the comfiest and I picked out fabric………with words……..Latin words. And he LOVED it. What?!!!?? I guess he is an English teacher. Hehe. I really didn’t expect picking out fabric to be that easy. I was just being funny and slightly obnoxious when I suggested dark grey fabric with cream colored Latin words. But if you love it….I guess that’s the one.

Here are the pictures!!!!

Living room with apartment furniture

Living room with apartment furniture

My dorm chair

My dorm chair

