Tags

,

Fall time in the Midwest cannot get much better. The walnut leaves have started to drop and we picked up our first buckets of walnuts this Thursday. At Old World Wisconsin, they have a lovely program from Sept to Oct 13 called “Autumn on the Farm” where they go through the harvest traditions and all things “autumn.” I’m so happy to be a part of this too!!! After three weekends in a row of reenacting with people I love, I now get to go back and see many of my summer friends/coworkers. This will be weekend number four of “dress up/pretend”. 😀 😀 Today I don 1860’s attire!!!

 

Here I am in the kitchen of the 1860’s house. It is a fabulous home to be in and interpret. I wish my house were that big. In the picture below, I am making cucumber catsup aka pickle relish. It’s really easy: finely chop cucumbers, onions, and red peppers (spicy or not, your choice). Put in a layer of those ingredients and top that layer with a sprinkle of salt. Then put in another layer of the chopped ingredients, sprinkle with salt. Keep repeating until the crock or jar is full. Cover and let it sit over night. Press out liqour (not sure if that just means the liquid or what; the recipe is from 1869) and add vinegar. Then bottle it and seal the bottles otherwise the cucumbers will spoil.

Sanford kitchen

Sanford kitchen

Sanford porch

Sanford porch

