Apparently I’m not done updating for the day. We’ve had a busy spring. So here is one more.

I always knew we would repaint the upstairs bathroom because even thought it’s not a disaster, it’s just not the look we are going for at all. And although the upstairs bathroom is not large by any means, it has more wall space to paint than the downstairs bathroom. While looking at pinterest one night, I found a picture of a kitchen corner that had bright vibrant verdant green painted trim. I loved it. But that color green would not really go with any other colors in my house. But I was inspired all the same.

As most decorating projects get started, I had seen one simple object in a store and decided to use that as my main inspiration. That object was a Sonoma bath curtain from Kohl’s. I love embroidery and for a non-hand embroidered product, this shower curtain was pretty darn cute!! I had to have it and Kohl’s cash made that possible.

Then I realized I had leftover paint from my remodel in the art studio. I figured, it’s only paint; if I don’t like it, I can repaint it! I decided to paint the trim around the window and the baseboard because they were already painted white (along with the walls, the baseboard heater, the sink, the toilet, tub, and shower curtain. Too bland. So pink it was!!

Before.

Boring white trim

Boring white trim

Earlier this spring I purchased a new curtain rod and shower curtain rings because the originals were getting junky and gross.

New curtain rod and rings

New curtain rod and rings

As with all my rooms, I am going for the chic vintage flare.

Painting the trim and baseboards took 2.5 hours on a Saturday (that does not include the few hours it took me to move items, clean the floor, wash/prep the parts to paint, and tape around the trim) and I decided to wait a full day before putting on a second coat. The second coat went on Tues.

Here is what it looks like now!

Finished project.

Finished project.

Close up of embroidery on the shower curtain.

Close up of embroidery on the shower curtain.

Little plant addition.

Little plant addition.

I’m really pleased with how it turned out. It makes me happy every morning because the pink hue reminds me of grapefruit which I love a lot. Now getting ready for work in the morning doesn’t seem quite so tough on beautiful spring days!

